Power BI has introduced a new workspace experience.The new workspace is now the default workspace after General availability(April 2019). The new workspace and the classic workspace coexist side by side, and you can create either, but the new workspace experience is the default workspace type. Workspace is the method of collaborating with colleagues for creating collection of reports and dashboards.
You can upload the image for your Workspace in Power BI itself.
For uploading image for your workspace, you need to go to Office 365 portal
There will be no any background office 365 groups, means it’s not going to show up in place likes outlook, Microsoft teams, OneDrive that took advantage of Office 365 groups.
Classic workspace do create a modern office 365 group in the background
In new workspace experience you can have AD group as a role membership in your workspace.
In older workspace, admin of the workspace can be individually added
The new version of workspace comes with a new access role setup like Contributor, Member and Admin. That gives more granular access to the workspace.
In Older workspace, We had only two roles- Admin and member, where Admin has full right and member can have either view or Edit options.
No Leave workspace button
In classic workspace, there is an option to Leave the workspace.
You can control the creation of workspace by specific security groups or entire organization. Admin of the Power BI tenant can restrict creating of workspaces. This feature is present under Power BI Admin portal
Such restriction is not present in classic workspace
New features as part of Upgraded workspace experience
Roles in the new workspace
Workspace one drive
Copy reports from old workspace to new workspace
Dataset sharing and the new workspace experience
1.Roles in the new workspace
1.Can change and delete the workspace 2.Add admins 3.Everything a member can do
1.Share or allow others to Reshare the items 2.Add new users to members or lower permission 3.Publish and update apps 4.Everything a contributor can do
1.Add/Edit/Delete content in the workspace 2.Everything that a viewer can do
View content in the workspace
This will show the list of contact of the users or groups, you to specify which users or groups will receive notification about issues occurring in the workspace.
Whenever you are creating a upgraded workspace, In Advanced setting, you will able to see contact list, that has two controls features-
1. Workspace Admins 2. Specific users and groups
Workspace admins- By default, any user or group specified as a workspace admin is notified, but you can customize the list.
Specified users and groups- Users and groups added in this contact list will be shown in the UI to help the users to issues related to that workspace
3.Workspace one drive
The workspace one drive feature is present under Advanced setting for new upgraded workspace This feature allows you to configure Office 365 groups whose OneDrive file storage will be available for workspace Note:- 1.You first create this Office 365 groups, then you can type the name of your group created in Workspace OneDrive section of workspace, it will automatically pop-up
2.Power BI doesn't synchronize permissions of users or groups who are configured to have workspace access with the Office 365 Group membership. The best practice is give the same Office 365 group, whose file storage you configure in this setting Office 365 groupusers.
3.Once you specified the Workspace OneDrive, you can use that file storage location to get data, and that will show under files for the workspace ,For example, I have given Power BI Training(Office 365 group) in Workspace OneDrive section, As a result, I can see that drive name, When I clicked in Get Data -> Files
If you click on Eclipse button next to your Upgraded workspace name, you can see Files option apart from Workspace setting and Workspace access. After clicking on Files, it will redirect you to Office 365 group where you have created this group.
Everyone you add to this upgraded workspace need to have a Power BI pro license Power BI users who wants to publish the reports from Power BI Desktop or other clients tools without a Pro license see the error "Only users with Power BI Pro licenses can publish to this workspace."
If you want to distribute content to others inside your organization, you can assign Power BI Pro licenses to those users or place the workspace in a Power BI Premium capacity.
1.Usage metrics feature was unavailable till month of April 2019. After general availability of new experience of workspace, Usage metrics feature is also present. 2.Usage metrics is one of the feature in Power BI Service. The usage metrics report will give you an analysis of how many times the content is viewed or share, through which platforms (web or mobile), and by which users.
6.Copy reports from Old workspace to new workspace
If you have new workpspace (upgraded workspace), you can now copy the reports of old workspace to new workspace.
1.Still you can't move your entire workspace to New workspace.
2.You can't copy the Reports in Bulk.
3.Copy of dashboard is also not possible as of now.
7.Dataset sharing and the new workspace experience
1.As per New workspace experience, you can build reports based on datasets present in different workspaces (new workspaces)
2.When you click on Create report dialog from Power BI service, you will able to see this pop-up (as below), you can select the dataset present in new workspace and my workspaces to create reports.
But, when you select a old workspace, you will only able to see the datasets present in that workspace, not the ones in other workspace.
1.The Power BI administrator can restrict the creating of Workspace by users or group or entire organization
The Tenant setting Create workspaces (new workspace experience ) setting controls who in your tenant can create workspaces.
2. PowerBI admin can manage the workspace from admin portal itself, Power BI admin can modify the workspace including set access and recover the workspace.
3.Sometimes a workspace can become orphaned– for example, the last workspace admin can leave your organization. This UI allows the Power BI admin to assign a new workspace Admin, or add/remove users from the workspace.
4.To manage classic workspaces based on Office 365 Groups, you’ll continue to use the Office 365 Portal.