Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

gvlado
Advocate II
Advocate II

How many times data from column appears in other column

Hello PBI friends
I have, probably simple, problem but I am stucked and going around like in rounabout road.
Have to produce column that will be based on appearance of the same data (for example from column 2) in another column ( for example column 3).
Example:
Product A can be sold in many countries. I have to know in how many countries it is sold? Desired solution is Apperas in #Country (green header)

gvlado_0-1695032662092.png

Thanks, a lot. I am still learning so I hope once I will be able to help to someone.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ChiragGarg2512
Super User
Super User

Creation of the following column can help you with this situation.

Column = calculate(DistinctCOUNT('Table'[Country]), Filter('Table', 'Table'[Product] = EARLIER('Table'[Product])))

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
ChiragGarg2512
Super User
Super User

Creation of the following column can help you with this situation.

Column = calculate(DistinctCOUNT('Table'[Country]), Filter('Table', 'Table'[Product] = EARLIER('Table'[Product])))

I knew it - so simple
Thanks a lot.
You earned pizza - when you come to Croatia

Thank you,... For the free food😂.

123abc
Community Champion
Community Champion

In Power BI, you can achieve this by creating a new calculated column in your table that counts how many times a value from one column appears in another column. In your case, you want to count how many countries each product appears in. Here's how you can do it:

1. Open your Power BI report and go to the "Model" view.

2. In the "Fields" pane, select the table where you want to create the new calculated column.

3. Click on the "Modeling" tab in the top menu.

4. Click on "New Column."