Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

jiinson
Helper I
Helper I

data refresh

Dear Power BI Users,

I am pretty new to power bi. 

I have published report from Power BI Desktop to Power BI Service and now I want to refresh the data 8 am everyday. My data is from SQL and Excel. How do I schedule refresh? I have read the article and it seems like I do have to purchase power bi pro. Is there anyway I can refresh the data automatically not by buying pro version?

Thanks in advance!

Best Regards,

Jiin Son

5 REPLIES 5
v-ljerr-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @jiinson,

I'm not aware of a good solution here in your scenario. You may need to put you data on Cloud instead of SQL and Excel as suggested by @Seth_C_Bauer, or republish it from Power BI Desktop to Power BI Service everyday, or buy a pro license.Smiley Happy

Regards

@jiinson In order to schedule a refresh from the on-premises data sources you need to install and use the gateway. This would require a Pro license. If you want to schedule a refresh of 1x per day the data would need to live in the cloud.

Looking for more Power BI tips, tricks & tools? Check out PowerBI.tips the site I co-own with Mike Carlo. Also, if you are near SE WI? Join our PUG Milwaukee Brew City PUG

hey @Seth_C_Bauer are you saying: If you want to schedule a refresh of 1x per day the data would need to live in the cloud...IF one doesn't have a Pro license??   

somehow I missed that all this time.....

www.CahabaData.com

Hey @CahabaData,

This is what I have figured out making dashboards for free and pro users.

Without a Pro License:

SQL Query --> Excel --> Power BI Desktop --> PBI Service - refresh in Desktop and republish to service to get the new data.

SQL Query  --> Excel (stored in OneDrive) --> PBI Service - data changes will update hourly if OneDrive Refresh is enabled.