Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

stark

client based data

Hi Guys,

First of all I have little knowledge about power BI and even less about Azure or cloud/database programming. Also, I hope that this is posted in the right section.

Basic goal:

I'm trying to build a client portal (via Wordpress) in which clients can log in and see their data (MySQL) presented in a organised and professional way (visualised graphs/tables by Power BI). 

Details:

I've made a simple FrontEnd with Wordpress on which clients can register and log in to get access to a private page. Each client wants to monitor specific data on their private page. All this data is gathered in a MySQL server.

I would like to use this data and generate specific visuals (using Power BI) and present (embed?) these sets of specific visuals on their private page in Wordpress. This means that each private page has different data and possibly different visuals. 

So I'd like to see if it's possible to connect Power Bi and Wordpress in order to give clients access to their specifically requested data which sits on a MySQL server. Can you guys give me any advice on this? 

I'm too inexperienced with Microsoft's products in order to be able to decide if this is the right way to present the data (with Power BI) or that I need to use a different tool (not microsoft related) in my case. When it comes down to it, Wordpress and MySQL are a must and can't be replaced. So the only "variable" tool in this case would be Power BI.

References:

https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Service/Client-Dashboard-Solution/m-p/194171/highlight/true#M26342

https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Developer/Power-BI-Embedded-with-Row-Level-Security/td-p/36492

https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Service/Alter-Report-Filters-Based-On-Recipient/m-p/44318/highlight...