Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Organizational Content Pack - How does the end user get the latest version

As a report author, I've published an Organizational Content Pack using AS Tabular Connection, and now I've made updates to a report in the Content Pack (and Changed Dashboard - which prompts Content Pack Update).

As an end user, I've updated the original report provided in the Content Pack with my own visuals.

I log in again as an end user after the update, and see that there is a new version notification, but I'm not seeing how I get that new version?

I connected to the Content Pack again, but that just brings in the objects again, which is not what I want because I want my updates as well.

This behavior only happens when the end user has modified something. Otherwise the updates just automatically happen - which is really nice.

(edited for clarifiying the specific scenerio)

Looking for more Power BI tips, tricks & tools? Check out PowerBI.tips the site I co-own with Mike Carlo. Also, if you are near SE WI? Join our PUG Milwaukee Brew City PUG
4 REPLIES 4
meysun
Resolver IV
Resolver IV

If the consumer of the content pack has not personalized it, then they will automatically get the latest as and when the content pack publisher republishes it.

If the consumer has personalized it, then they will only get a notification. Their personalized old version will stay. They can then use Get Data -> My Organization and get a new version without affecting their personalized old version. Then ,they can decide to keep both or get rid of the old one after they manually moving their personalized changes to the new.

Hope this clarifies