Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

AbhayOberoi

On premises data gateway installation error

Hi All,

Hope someone can help. I'm new to the Power Bi service and trying to install on-premises data gateway. The instrallation starts but half way through it throws an error and says The gateway installation has failed. and give me the following error.

System.InvalidOperationException: Cannot start service PBIEgwService on computer '.'. ---> System.ComponentModel.Win32Exception: The service did not start due to a logon failure
--- End of inner exception stack trace ---
at System.ServiceProcess.ServiceController.Start(String[] args)
at Microsoft.PowerBI.EgwInstallUtils.CustomActions.RestartService(Session session)

Not sure if anyone has faced this issue earlier.

10 REPLIES 10
Alain_Huynh
Regular Visitor

Hi,

I found a solution :

When you install the gateway, the gateway create a directory (PBIEgwService) in C:\users. The installation have to be allowed to write in that directory. You have to check the authorizations of this directory.

It works for me.

08/22/2017, I received this error because I modified the installation path of the gateway. Once I restarted the installation with default settings, it loaded just fine.

08/22/2017, I received this error because I modified the installation path of the gateway. Once I restarted the installation with default settings, it loaded just fine.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Same error here! It's never installed corectly for me. This is the bigest failure for us and potential roll out of PBI to our clients. Please either fix this or make it an easier thing to resolve. The guide is confusing and the forum is full of non-solution 'solutions...