Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

EastleyD

Licensing question

Hi,

I am currently a Pro user who is creating internal budget performance reporting across ~100 individuals.

Data is stored in a local Access database, and I am using the Personal Gateway to refresh reports which have been uploaded to the web from the Desktop application.

I have created a personal dashboard for each individual, showing a tile for each of the budget lines for which they are responsible.

It all seems to be working fine, with the only caveat being that I must refresh/update the reports for them each month as new data is added to the database.

Will these users be able to remain on the free license, or will they eventually need to move across to a Pro license to access the reports I have created and updating/sharing to their personal Desktops.

Any assistance is appreciated, many thanks.

5 REPLIES 5
v-qiuyu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @EastleyD,

From this article: Power BI Pro content - what is it?, you can see

Data from a dataset that connects to on-premises data using the Power BI Gateway - Personal  or the On-premises Data Gateway

It means each user access your report need Pro license, as the dataset of report uses personal gateway.

Best Regards,
Qiuyun Yu

Community Support Team _ Qiuyun Yu
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Apologies, just wondering if you are part of the BI team?

Are you 100% sure about this answer.

If I being the Pro user refresh the report using my Pro license, the data container in the cloud is updated from the local data source.

The cloud based 'data container' is what to my understanding drives the Power BI reporting viewed on a reporting dashboard.