Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

CmdrKeene
Helper IV
Helper IV

Help Building Query

I need some help figuring out what strategy I should use to accomplish this in Power BI.

I have a list of subscribed customers along with their subscription start and end dates.  In Excel I can use a COUNTIF function in a separate date table (seen on right side) to count how many customers were active in any given month.  That is, I compare how many customers had a subscription start on/before a given date and also had an end date at some point after that date.  That way I can show subscribers per month as shown.

But I want to do this with Power BI instead of a table to the side.

I'm sure I'll need a date dimension table, and there's plenty of guides on that.  But what about counts per month?  And I'd love to still be able to slice or chart by group (as a legend value in a stacked bar for example).

I've been trying for a while but I'm not getting very far.  Any suggestions for a Power BI newbie?

This file is shared here: CustomerCounts.xlsx

CmdrKeene
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

If you like, you can do this without a calendar-table and within the query-editor.

Either reference or transform your table like this:

let
    Source = BillingItems,

// Create a list of (first of) months for each entry
    AddMonths = Table.AddColumn(Source, "Months", each List.Distinct(List.Transform({Number.From([StartDate])..Number.From([StopDate])}, each Date.StartOfMonth(Date.From(_))))),

// Expand that list
    #"Expanded Months" = Table.ExpandListColumn(AddMonths, "Months"),

// Add month-column
    AddMonthColumn = Table.AddColumn(#"Expanded Months", "Month", each Date.Month([Months])),

// Add Year-column
    AddYearColumn = Table.AddColumn(AddMonthColumn, "Year", each Date.Year([Months]))
in
    AddYearColumn