Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

microsoftrookie
Helper II
Helper II

Geography Layers

Hello, I am new to Microsoft Power Bi and i am trying to get a filled map to represent both the data for the United States nation and a singular state. My data contains both United States data and (i.e.) New Jersey data. I have tried putting in (new jersey, new jersey), (united stares of america, new jersey, united states of america). When i select geography types in the data format power bi only seems to accept one of them (county/region, place, Country). For example the united states will be filled in, but once a filter is selected then for new jersey it won't highlight it. Is there a way to get both on the same map and highlight each one while selected?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @microsoftrookie,

You get an expected behavior in filled map. As your post, we are only able to select the geography column as either a state or a country. When you label geography column as country, how does Power BI recognize New Jersey as a country since it is a state? And vice versa.

In your scenario, if you persist to use filled map, you would need to separate data of  New Jersey and United States into different tables, then create two filled maps.

However, if you don’t want to separate data of  New Jersey and United States into different tables, then you can add Latitude and Longitude columns in your current table, and create a map visual instead of filled map using Latitude, Longitude columns and numerical data columns. This way, when you create a slicer using geography column, you can highlight proper section in map visual when selecting value in the slicer.

Thanks,
Lydia Zhang

Community Support Team _ Lydia Zhang