Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Difference between Content Pack and App workspace

HI Team,

I want to understand what is the difference between Content Pack and App Workspace ? Consider a scenerio, as a developer i have created few reports in power bi desktop and published to a group workspace (orApp  Workspace)  in Power Bi Online. Here i can add members with edit\read permissions. But what i understand here is if the users inside the group edit the content and save it, it will get reflected to the entire group . 

Here. Microsoft gives us the new option Content Pack. What my understanding is that when i create a Content Pack with data published inside the group workspace and distribute it as organizational content pack across a group of audience. the good thing over here is, the audience can download the organizational content pack and create a copy of the dataset or reports and play around with their own copy. They will see the organizational content pack available under "My Worksapce"

Microsoft in their recent release brought App culture into Power BI space, where they call it App Workspace. Even when we try creating Content Pack we get a suggestion to "Try App". So i tried handson with this so call app. Steps followed.

•  Browsed one of the workspace
  • Clicked on Publish App
  • It gave me option to set the theme, select necessary report and set of users with whom the app should be shared
  • Once i published the app, the users who has access to the app can subscribe for it and it will available under their app tab
  • It lists all the dashboard, reports and dashboards
  • But what it doesn't give is privilege for the user to edit content.
  • For me it feels more or less like report sharing.