Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ozancavus
Regular Visitor

Data capacity

Dear Power BI Community,

As a BI consultant I am experimenting with the functionalities of Power BI and even though I have no experience with Microsoft environment I can say that I am very impressed, congratulations for doing such a good job! After two days of digging I have questions in mind.

1. Say that an organization has 1 TB of sales data, how does Power BI deals with such cases where data is much larger 10 GB limit?

2. If it can handle data chunks that are larger than 10 GB, does it use Azure?

3. If it can handle data chunks that are larger than 10 GB, how does it connects to local data sources such as an SQL database with data of 500 GBs?

Again, bravo for the Power BI and keep up the good work!

Best,

Ozan

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

@ozancavus

1. Say that an organization has 1 TB of sales data, how does Power BI deals with such cases where data is much larger 10 GB limit?

The current path would be to have that data in a cube/model, Power BI can connect directly to that cube/model and not import the data.

2. If it can handle data chunks that are larger than 10 GB, does it use Azure? Each workspace/group is limited to 10GB of which all the info already sits in Azure.

3. If it can handle data chunks that are larger than 10 GB, how does it connects to local data sources such as an SQL database with data of 500 GBs? Direct Query to databases/cubes/models only queries the information, it doesn't import it.

Direct Query methods send queries to your data source (Database, cube/model) - the size of those datasources is not a factor because you are not importing the data into Power BI.