Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

RyanW
Frequent Visitor

Calculate Percentage change from previous value

So I have a simple table called MasterData that I am trying to calculate the % difference between the current value and the last previous value

Capture1.JPG

I am using a measure to get the last process date for a particular reference - 

Last Run Date = CALCULATE(MAX( MasterData[ProcessDate] ),FILTER( ALL(MasterData) ,MAXX( FILTER( MasterData, EARLIER( MasterData[ProcessDate] ) < MasterData[ProcessDate] && EARLIER( MasterData[Reference]) = MasterData[Reference]), MasterData[ProcessDate] )))

Which returns

Capture2.JPG

Which is correct, what I now want to to do return the CostPerTon for that Last Run Date and then show the most recent costperton as a % increase/decrease against the costperton for the last run date.

I'm just not sure how should I go about this?  I know its 'should' be simple but I'm going round in circles.

Cheers

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @RyanW,

At first, please note that we can only create measure and calculated column in Power Bi desktop. So I test in Power BI desktop.

After several days' test, I tried many solutions. Finally, I get the previous day's value. Please create a measure using the formula.

Prvious-day-value = Var DD=MasterData[Last Run Date]
RETURN 
CALCULATE(MAX(MasterData[CostPerTon]),FILTER(ALLSELECTED(MasterData),MasterData[ProcessDate]=DD))

Then create a measure to get the increase/decrease percentage.

Percentage = (MAX(MasterData[CostPerTon])-MasterData[Prvious-day-value])/MAX(MasterData[CostPerTon])

1.PNG

Please download the attachments to review more details.

Best Regards,
Angelia

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
v-huizhn-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @RyanW,