Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Single Template for PowerBI datasets

Hi,

I am an intern at Microsoft, Hyderabad. My solution uploads data to Push datasets of the Customers. These datasets have the exact same schema for all the Customers. So now I want to create a template which I would share with my customers. They would be able to connect to their Datasets and view the report.

Is it possible? If yes, how, Because I was previously encountering this problem

http://community.powerbi.com/t5/Issues/Creating-Templates-for-PowerBI-datasets/idc-p/441875#M27200

Further is it possible for the users to have no interaction with PowerBI desktop. Can he/she do everything online (using PowerBI online service) ? 

Comments
v-qiuyu-msft
Community Support

Hi @Koustav,

In your scenario, I would suggest you create a app workspace and publish your report to this app work space, then grant these customers view only permission in this app workspace. See: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/service-create-distribute-apps

Best Regards,

Qiuyun Yu

Koustav
Regular Visitor

No, app workspace will be common across all customers.

Let me explain my situation properly.

Every customer does a job in his cloud account of VSTS. Let us call that job 'X'.

Huge amount of data is generated generated while this job X is performed. The customers want these data to be sent to them alongwith PowerBI reports. We need to provide them with data as well as some template to which they can connect and view their basic report. The purpose of giving all the data is so that users can customize their report according to their needs.