Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

jeffwinchell
Helper I
Helper I

Power BI Manage Gateways doesn't show new on-premises gateway

I am new to Power BI and frustrated with the unnecessary complexity of gateways to connect a front end reporting tool to a DBMS server.

I am using Power BI Pro (trial) and an on-premises PostgreSQL 9.2 (on Red Hat Linux).

When I went from Power BI Desktop to Pro, solely so I could make a dashboard with at least somewhat reasonable data refresh, I installed the on-premises gateway personal. I could do a simple report of data in the DBMS with this.

But the personal gateway is on my laptop, so I installed the "non-personal" gateway on a Win 2012 R2 server on our network. The default install of that appeared to go correctly, but it wasn't clear how to change from connecting to the personal gateway to the non-personal one, so I deleted both.

Then I installed the non-personal one on my laptop and used it to do the above simple report successfully.

Then I installed the non-personal gateway on the server again. But I cannot see it when I go to Manage Gateways. I changed the non-personal gateway to using https figuring their might be a network security/firewall/port blocking issue. That changed nothing.

Someone please tell me how to get this working.

(and afterwards when it works, I will attempt to tell MSFT PMs' for this product why this gateway thing confuses and turns off potential customers so they can simplify things).

8 REPLIES 8
v-qiuyu-msft
Community Support
Community Support