Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

robgar

Dataset Refresh and Pubishing Questions

I'm new to PBI.  I am a remote user not on any corp network.   I have built in PDI Desktop a report that uses a XLS located in my O365 Sharepoint Document library.  I use a http address for my data source.  I have published that report to my PIB workspace.  It works great.

What expectations should I have regarding dataset refreshes when I make changes to that same report in PBI Desktop? I know I can force a refresh using the PBI website, but I never see changes to the report (like when adding a new query table to the report).  In fact, manual refreshes say "success" .. no errors.

Since my data source is in the cloud (using web URL to filename) I assumed I didn't need PBI Pro or a gateway.  Did I assume correctly?

Of course if I republish the report, changes do appear, so my question there is .. does that alter the URL users will go to to view the data .. on other wrods do I have to keep resending them a new URL and QR Code?

Thanks folks.  Lots of refresh questions posted online .. I'm just not seeing a clear answer to mine.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hello again,
Why are you updating the data immediatley in PBI Desktop? Doing that will require a re-publish. Maybe update a database? 

or what you can do is save the PBI desktop file on OneDrive, and then you can set up a OneDrive refresh. 

Here's how you can do it:

https://powerbi.microsoft.com/en-us/documentation/powerbi-service-powerbi-desktop-files/#where-your-...

Then you can click on the dataset and schedule a refresh and choose "OneDrive refresh". That should work!

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
dimazaid
Employee
Employee

If it's in an online SharePoint data source, you're correct assuming no gateway is needed.