Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

netwire
Frequent Visitor

Converting Unix timestamp from Stripe API to Date/Time

Hi,

Is there a way that I can convert the `created` attribute of a Stripe `charge` object to Date/Time? It's currently in text format as a Unix timestamp, i.e.: 1463948811, see example here https://stripe.com/docs/api#charge_object.

I'm new to PowerBI, not sure how to do this in PowerBI Desktop. I assume I'll need to use the Advanced Editor?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

Well, if it is a Unix timestamp, then it is the number of seconds from 1/1/1970 (UTC). So something like this calculated column should suffice:

UTCTime = VAR UnixDays = [UnixTime]/(60*60*24)
RETURN (DATEVALUE("1/1/1970")+UnixDays)

Basically, convert the number of seconds to the number of days and then add it to the date value of 1/1/1970. Essentially, the same thing you would do in Excel.

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
Mastering Power BI 2nd Edition

DAX is easy, CALCULATE makes DAX hard...

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
IvanBond
Advocate II
Advocate II

Hi,

Just an idea - try a function

https://github.com/IvanBond/pquery/blob/master/Date.EpochToDate.m

Best regards,

Ivan

Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

Well, if it is a Unix timestamp, then it is the number of seconds from 1/1/1970 (UTC). So something like this calculated column should suffice:

UTCTime = VAR UnixDays = [UnixTime]/(60*60*24)
RETURN (DATEVALUE("1/1/1970")+UnixDays)

Basically, convert the number of seconds to the number of days and then add it to the date value of 1/1/1970. Essentially, the same thing you would do in Excel.

Latest book!: