Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Advice needed - Best solution to configure Power BI Service to refresh data

Hi all,

I am a bit new to Power BI, so, pardon me if this is a newbee-like question.

Here is my setup:

Designing Dashboards & Reports from PBI Desktop the publishing & sharing it to PBI Service.

Data : Currently using excel files updated every 2 hours and refreshing manually the data.

Database : Hosted MySQL

MySQL Config.JPG

Now I am willing to work on real-time data or data updated on a regular schedule multiple times a day in Power BI service (I am guessing not using excel files anymore but changing my datasets source to hit MySQL DB).

After googling it, it seems that I should install and configure a Power BI Gateway and a MySQL connector, is this the best way to proceed ?

If so, is there a tuto or something that could help me out ?

Any comment or advice would be much appreciated.

Thank you all in advance.

Thomas

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

@Anonymous,

When you change data source of your report from Excel to MySQL database, you would need to add the MySQL data source within gateway in order to schedule refresh the dataset in Power BI Service. You can follow the instructions in this similar article.

Also make sure that you are able to connect to MySQL database from the machine that installing gateway, you can install MySQL workbench in the gateway machine to test the connection.

In addition, for Power BI free or pro users, it is possible to refresh 8 times for a dataset , and for Power BI premium users, it is possible to refresh 48 times for a dataset in Power BI Service.

Regards,
Lydia

Community Support Team _ Lydia Zhang