Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

RichardV
Advocate II
Advocate II

Power BI embedded dynamic RLS vs manual uploads

Hi guys,

Let me be frank about it, I am not a developer. But I do want to find out how things work with Power BI, so I have some questions.

My company wants to create a portal in which we want to embed Power BI reports for our customers, using Power BI embedded EM1. We want to start with a few customers, but quickly go up to 100 customers.

We want to make 5 different standard reports for our 5 different customers. We are thinking about using dynamic RLS, so we only have to alter these 5 reports if there are updates from our side. However, we reckon that some customers have unique wishes for their reports. We think that around 20 reports will be custom reports.

I have a hard time in finding documentation (and I have insufficient technical knowledge) for the best way to implement this. A few questions:

1. Once we programmed the code for Power BI embedded in our portal, would it be possible to create custom reports and provide it to the relevant customer? Or do we need to program code for each (new) individual users?

2. When is dynamic RLS going to be available for EM1?

3. Is it hypothetically possible to create 100 different reports, and allocate it to the relevant users? Or is this not recommended?

4. Do you have some documention/tutorials about how to upload reports to power bi embedded?

Many thanks in advance!

Richard

2 REPLIES 2
MeQT
Frequent Visitor

Heyho,

you need a place to store a pairing of report and user somewhere at first, of course only if you want to have X amount of reports for X amount of users. this way you are able a get all reports, standard and custom reports for each customer. this is something your portal application needs to handle, not power bi embedded.