Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Editting an existing Custom Visual causes Icon to stop working

I'm still new at editting Custom Visuals.  We are using the Timeline Slider V1.3.17 written by Microsoft but just needed some updates to how the years were displayed.  After some initial trouble with GUIDs needing to be changed to ensure i could see my updates, i've managed to get the visual to do everything I want.

The only catch is making any change to the javascript file causes the icon to cease working. Its just an empty square in the Visualiations pane. Its selectable and funcitonal, except its just empty.

The files and links to those files are unchanged.  I'm curious if others have run into similar issues and have found a solution?

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
MawashiKid
Resolver II
Resolver II

Hi,

You mean the Timeline sample right?
Timeline.png

Note if you click on Github link you'll notice it will direct you to a deprecated CORE version. So this visual as some others were previously built using the CORE version which is basically an application built in Visual Studio 2015. I haven't seen any updated CLI code source version.

So in order to bring modifications to any existing pbiviz you have 3 options:

1 - as you mentioned, you may try to decompile the pbviz (changing pbviz to zip - bring modification
     like changing GUID then recompile it). However this approach may NOT always work as expected.
    The approach has been mentioned a few times... though to be honnest I wouldn't bet a million do$ on it.
2- next approach would be to take the available code on Github and bring modifications right at the source.
    The CORE application doesn't provide any pbiviz command line righ out of the box like PBI CLI pbiviz package.