Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

franckster
Frequent Visitor

Azure AD oAuth request returns html page and not oAuth Code

Hi all,

I'm new to PBI and the AAD world, presently working on an Embedded App Owns Data POC for our company, to display custom dashboard for our clients within our application.

I've followed all the step to declare a PowerBI Native App and grant permissions in our Azure Active Directory tenant, got a client id, the oAuth API endpoint. I declared urn:ietf:wg:oauth:2.0:oob as a return url for now.

Since we developped our app in Ruby on Rails, I'm test riding the API with raw calls with the Restlet Client Chrome extension.

I'm following the instructions there : https://docs.microsoft.com/en-US/azure/active-directory/develop/active-directory-protocols-oauth-cod...

I am stuck on the first step. When I call POST on this url :

https://login.microsoftonline.com/"mytenantid"/oauth2/authorize?client_id="myclientid"&response_type...

I don't get a response with an AD access code but an html page that basically says "Connect to your application".

Any help will be greatly appreciated...

Thanks forward !

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Replying to myself but will be useful for others too seeing the time I spent on the matter...

MS Support pointed me to this thread which solved my problem :

https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Developer/How-To-Get-embed-token-using-Get-Post-only/td-p/294475

I used Postman to try everything, making sure to pass the body of the Get Embed Token API POST calls as Raw / JSON (application/json) ( cf radio buttons underneath the Authorization/Headers/Body/Pre-request Script/Test tabs). Doing otherwise would set this particular API calls off for passing form-data.

Hope this helps !

Thanks again @v-ljerr-msft for your help !