Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

KyleT
Regular Visitor

"Creating Live Connections" taking hours - how long should I wait?

This is my first time using DirectQuery and since it said it was good for working with large datasets, I went ahead and told it to connect to all 777 tables in our SQL database.  It has been six hours now and PowerBI still states "Creating Live Connections..." for all 777 tables and just shows a little 'spinning circle' next to all of them.

Is there some way for me to get a sense from Power BI as to how much time might be left, or at least an indicator that progress is being made?

In task manager I can see Power BI is using around 15 to 25% of my CPU consistently and 7 to 8GB of RAM, with very little disk usage most of the time.   I also see a "Microsoft Mashup Evaluation Container" process that I'm guessing is related to Power BI, though it isn't hitting CPU or RAM very hard. This is a new Dell Precision Windows 10 workstation with Core i7-6700k CPU, 32GB of RAM and 1TB SSD.

Is there a log file I could check somewhere or other sort of connection or status monitor for Power BI specifically?

In either case, what's the longest I should be waiting before I give up?  Is a DirectQuery to 777 tables just over the top ridiculous?  If so what should be my target max?

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

@KyleT What is it you are trying to do?... You should only be connecting to, or pulling in information that you will need to build reports. And if you really would need to model 700 + tables, Power BI Desktop is not the place to try to do that, there is no way it will support the load you are throwing at it.

Looking for more Power BI tips, tricks & tools? Check out PowerBI.tips the site I co-own with Mike Carlo. Also, if you are near SE WI? Join our PUG Milwaukee Brew City PUG