Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

linoybar
Frequent Visitor

m query remove character from column in a table

Hi, I'm very new to Power BI and learning now M language.

My question is: which formula would remove a specific character in a table?

For example, I have this code:

let
Source = Excel.Workbook(File.Contents("my_path.customer.xlsx"), null, true),
Categories_Sheet = Source{[Item="Categories",Kind="Sheet"]}[Data],
#"Promoted Headers" = Table.PromoteHeaders(Categories_Sheet),
#"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(#"Promoted Headers",{{"CategoryID", Int64.Type}, {"CategoryName", type text}, {"Description", type text}, {"Link", type text}}),
Custom2 = Text.Remove(#"Changed Type".[CategoryName],{"o"})
in
Custom2

And I want to remove all "o"s from CategoryName column, so I've written this line:

Custom2 = Text.Remove(#"Changed Type".[CategoryName],{"o"})

but its' not correct.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Text.Remove doesn't take a column as the input. It takes a text value. Read the documentation on it. It's not meant to operate on full columns. It's meant to operate on a single text value. I can't tell you how to use Text.Remove on a column because that's not what that function is for. It is not the correct function to use in order to reach the outcome you want. Wrong tool for the job. And  by the way, ASKING THE SAME QUESTION A SECOND TIME IN ALL CAPS DOESN'T CHANGE THE ANSWER.

If you're hellbent on using that particular function for some reason, I suppose you could use it in a new column definition formula where you copy the text values from each row in another column, then use Text.Remove to remove those letters. But that leaves you with two columns, one with o's, one without. So you'll probably find that answer unacceptable too.