Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

gotmike
Frequent Visitor

how to create a query that paginates?

I'm working with the Hubspot CRM API and when you query for a list of all deals, you only get 100 records at a time, and they want you to send subsequent queries with an "offset" to paginate the results.

For instance, if you send:

https://api.hubapi.com/deals/v1/deal/all?hapikey=demo

at the very end of the query, you see the following JSON:

"hasMore":false
"offset":27939158

so, if hasMore is true, the NEXT query should look like this:

https://api.hubapi.com/deals/v1/deal/all?hapikey=demo&offset=27939158

and then, we would want to repeat the process until hasMore comes back with false.

i'm completely new to power bi, so would love to know how to handle this type of query process.

in another language, this would just be do { } while (hasMore == false);

or something like that...

214 REPLIES 214
Anonymous
Not applicable

@ImkeF - I have been following your guidance throughout this thread, your help has been really insightful (and a huge benefit to the Power BI community).  However, I am still struggling with how to isolate the value that gives me the next page for the API call, here is the response from the API:

{
"metadata": {
"filtering": {},
"paging": {
"per_page": 100,
"current_page": 2,
"next_page": 3, <-- Need this value
"prev_page": 1,
"total_pages": 81,
"total_count": 8001
},
"sorting": {
"sort_by": "updated_at",
"sort_direction": "DESC NULLS LAST"
}
},
"data": [
{...}]

In your code from the prior entries, you suggested doing this:

let
Pagination = List.Buffer(List.Generate( () => [WebCall=[], Page = 1, Counter=0], // Start Value