Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

GiangLe
Helper I
Helper I

beginner guide to learn Power BI

hi everyone,

I'm a power bi rookie. I have done some researches and self-learning myself (learning materials from microsoft, udemy) and i thought i had known it all until i actually try to make a dashboard myself in which i had to interact with my data in the relationships. Those courses i took, they mainly introduce the visualization function of power bi (the reports part). Could anyone point me to the right direction where i can learn more about creating relationships between my data?

For example, the thing that i'm struggling with atm: making unique key in 2 tables so i can create relationships between them. My colleague uses concatenate function to create a unique key and from there create a relationship between my data tables. This prob not the only way, could you point me to where i can learn/read more about this.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

The unique values only need to exist in 1 of the 2 tables, hopefully that is not tripping you up.  The relationship is often either 1:1 (1 to 1) or 1:* (1 to Many).  Once you get your head around it, its very easy.  I'll give you an example that might make it click.

You have a list of employees, who are your sales staff.  You have a list of sales and what they sold for.  You want to know how much each person sold over all.