Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

skylarw
Frequent Visitor

Variance in Average Pay

Hey guys,

I'm new to Power BI and I have a hard time following the forums so if this question was already posted somewhere, I apologize.

I have a list of 1300 employee names along with their positions, pay dates and gross pay. I'm trying to show spikes (variance of %15+) in the average gross pay of each employee.

Since there are so many names, I need to only show what's important and in a clear way, maybe highlighting in red the employees with a variance of %15+.

Is there a simple way to do this? Because if it's code based, i'm lost.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @skylarw,

Try this measure please. You can check it out in this file: https://1drv.ms/u/s!ArTqPk2pu-BkgSJ77V2S2Ik1Q7r6

Measure =
VAR lastPaydate =
    CALCULATE (
        MAX ( 'Rows 1 to 1523'[Pay Date] ),
        FILTER (
            ALL ( 'Rows 1 to 1523' ),
            'Rows 1 to 1523'[Pay Date] < MAX ( 'Rows 1 to 1523'[Pay Date] )
        )
    )
VAR lastGrossPay =
    CALCULATE (
        SUM ( 'Rows 1 to 1523'[Gross Pay] ),
        'Rows 1 to 1523'[Pay Date] = lastPaydate
    )
RETURN
    DIVIDE ( SUM ( 'Rows 1 to 1523'[Gross Pay] ) - lastGrossPay, lastGrossPay, 0 )

Variance in Average Pay.JPG

Best Regards!

Dale

Community Support Team _ Dale
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
GabrielSantos
Resolver I
Resolver I

This can certainly be done, but I'm not sure if it can be done without writing a DAX formula (is this what you mean by code-based?).