Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

mehaboob557
Resolver IV
Resolver IV

Unable to figure out how can i make Multidimension JSON (Nested JSON) into table

Hi All,

I am using REST API to get the JSON data. But, i am very new to JSON in powerbi.

I have some how used  some internet surf and Navigvated in LIST then Done tranform to Tables then Expand to rows and then LIST is coming e,t,c.

I followed this https://www.mssqltips.com/sqlservertip/4621/using-power-bi-with-json-data-sources-and-files/

But this is a normal JSON. mine is multidimentional JSON.

So i need your Help how can i achieve this.

I am shareing some sample JSON data here

Please suggest me how can i make into tables.. While making in tables, if it divide into tables how can i do the relationship.

Please share screen shot how the flow would be if you can, so that it may be easier to understand.

Thanks a ton in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Below the results from my efforts.

Before you start creating queres to parse he JSON file, make sure that your data is a representative example of your real data, otherwise you might be missing some queries:

e,g, the example file includes 2 examples with nested lists that are empty, so for these empty lists, no queries/tables could be created.

Parsing a JSON file requires a structured and very disciplined approach (e.g. you need to include steps to remove empty values, even if there are no empty values in your sample data).

The general steps are described in this document.

This document was used in creating below 31 (!) minutes video to illustrate the parsing proces and explain the 2 custom functions that are used and included in the Power BI Desktop files:

Start file

Finished file