Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

JonnyH
Frequent Visitor

SummarizeColumns() and AddMissingItems() may not be used in this context

Hi,

I'm still new to Power BI but I recently upgraded my version of Power BI and now one of my formulas is returning the following error.

The formula is ASQ = SUMMARIZECOLUMNS(Sprints[Qtr],FILTER(Sprints,Sprints[Start]>=RawDataExtract[Snapshot Date]))

This was working before the upgrade, Any pointers really appreciated

all the best

J

8 REPLIES 8
powerbi_zone
Frequent Visitor

Its 27th July 2022 and I presume this problem still persists! I just did the below calculation using SUMMARIZE (inside a measure).Seems to be working fine. But when i use SummarizeColumn it gives the famous error "Error Message: MdxScript(Model) (28, 5) Calculation error in measure 'financials'[SummarizeColumns]: SummarizeColumns() and AddMissingItems() may not be used in this context." ********************Summarize*********************

Summarize =

var tab1=

SUMMARIZE(financials,

financials[Country],

financials[Year],

"S1",sum(financials[ Sales]) )

var a=sumx(tab1,[S1])

return a

********************SummarizeColumn****************

SummarizeColumns =

var tab2=

SUMMARIZECOLUMNS (

financials[Country],

financials[Year],

"S2",

sum(financials[ Sales]) )

var b=sumx(tab2,Sumx(tab2,[S2]))

return b

*******************End Of Code**************************

In nutshell below is my observation:

When creating a table try using SummarizeColumns instead of Summarize .Remember SummarizeColumns is quicker .

When creating a measure try using Summarize since Summarize column will not work in Context transition (in Tables, Matrix ,Charts) .It only works in cards.