Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

JKammer
Regular Visitor

Scatter Chart and Play Axis Date Formatting Issue

I'm new to PowerBI and I have been evaluating the product.

Right now all my data tables have been built from Queries against  a SQL Server Database

During my experimentation I ran into an issue with the Scatter Chart.  When I added a Date field to the Play Axis it didn't format the year as expected.  Trying to understand why,  I discovered there was a problem where that DATE datatype field was not being recognised as a date heirarchy when dropped into a simple table visual.  Only the Date Text would show, not the extra fields that the tutorial showed like Qtr, etc.  Other date fields would so I'm not sure what was going on with this one.

Trying to isolate the issue I created a new project with just that table and a few others.  For whatever reason the field (no different  in definition from the original project) was now being recognized with the built in Heriarchy structure.

So I now recreated the Scatter Chart, added the Date field to the Play Axis and the same problem is still occuring.  The values being displayed are 2.02K.  The Visualization Pane shows the Play Axis as containing Date with the subcomponent Year.

I'm assuming its displaying the year as a decimal for some reason so its converting 2016 to 2.02K.

Anyone know why its performing in this manner?

Thanks in advance,

Jeff

BTW I just installed this version yesterday. Version: 2.37.4464.361 64-bit (July, 2016)

I noticed the

4 REPLIES 4
Quentin
Helper III
Helper III

Thanks for this post,

does anyone know how to make thar date smaller? 
Costumer is complaining is too big...

v-qiuyu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @JKammer,