Reply
Highlighted
Regular Visitor
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎01-09-2017

Re: SLICERS -> blank value

Hi @Seth_C_Bauer,

 

I tried your workaround but  it doesn't work for me. I changed the visual to pie chart, went to filters and ticked all the variables besides blank. Then I got back to slice but blank still appear.. Smiley Sad

Member
Posts: 136
Registered: ‎03-30-2016

Re: SLICERS -> blank value

No this work around does not work in the current version of Power BI. 

Regular Visitor
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎01-09-2017

Re: SLICERS -> blank value

thx @dcresp

Established Member
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎01-05-2016

Re: SLICERS -> blank value

Did anyone submit this as a ticket?

Though it is not quite an error, but there should be a table relationship related option to choose whether to show blanks or not.

Frequent Visitor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-09-2017

Re: SLICERS -> blank value

Hi,

 

I have 10 data tables with product information, demand qty and period. those are related with keydata columns created from product and period information.  I used many to one relationsships between the files.
I use several slicers and all of them are showing blanks, while none of the tables containing blanks.

Moreover in the visuals (charts) also there are blanks and the columns in the visual are showing totally wrong numbers compared to source files.

I figured out that the sum of the blank columns and the value columns would be the correct numbers. So, I think, there must be a something with data relations.

this might apply for the slicer blanks as well

 

Untitled.png

Regular Visitor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎05-29-2017

Re: SLICERS -> blank value (how to replace blanks into word "Blank" so it can be one line item

Hi, I want to replace my blanks into word "Blanks" so that I can show them in the slicer as blanks itself as one line item, is it possible ??

 

I have list of word in the 1st column 

 

column1

Apple

Bag

Car

             <- Blank 

Echo 

 

Expecting Output:

column 

 

Apple 

Bag 

Car 

(Blank)

Echo 

 

Thank you in advance 

Occasional Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-04-2017

Re: SLICERS -> blank value (how to replace blanks into word "Blank" so it can be one li

hmm..I wonder what the PowerBI team is doing if they are not even looking at the feedback.  This is a very visible and simple problem for two years and still not fixed.  How can we trust any MS products?

Dag Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-07-2017

Re: SLICERS -> blank value

This is not solved.

 

A (blank) shows up in the slicer, no matter what data it is connected to. 

It seems lika a bug. The workaround is not helpful (anymore?).

 

 

 

Regular Visitor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎03-30-2016

Re: SLICERS -> blank value

If I have blank value in slicer i move the same column that is in slicer to page or report level filter and then chose to show just non blank values
Dag Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-07-2017

Re: SLICERS -> blank value

That seems to work; thank you!