Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

umpoohg
Helper I
Helper I

SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR WITH YTD

Hello all,

I am fairly new to Power BI, and I have been tasked with creating some Sales report, specifically a report with the YTD, MTD, QTD and well as the sameperiodlastyear for each.  I have created a DateTable as shown below, which I added because I really belive it has to be datetable that is giving me problems.  I have the below measures created, and I have made so so many iterations, I have confused myself.  Either I get no data, when I add the sameperiodlastyear measure to the report, or it gives me the same data that I have for YTD, or it gives me nothing back, depending on how the measure was created.  Can anyone see anything that sticks out to you immediately?  Also, the only way it seems the ytd works, is if I create a filter on the date, but that seems counter-intuitive....any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Measures:

same period last year sameperiodlastyear = CALCULATE(SUM(IHeads[Sales]),SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR('DateTable'[Date]))

smp lastyear = CALCULATE([Total Sales], SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR(DateTable[Date]))

YTD Sales = TOTALYTD([Total Sales],'IHeads'[DateKey]     

let
Source = (StartDate as date, EndDate as date, optional Culture as nullable text) as table =>
let
DayCount = Duration.Days(Duration.From(EndDate - StartDate)),
Source = List.Dates(StartDate,DayCount,#duration(1,0,0,0)),
TableFromList = Table.FromList(Source, Splitter.SplitByNothing()),
ChangedType = Table.TransformColumnTypes(TableFromList,{{"Column1", type date}}),
RenamedColumns = Table.RenameColumns(ChangedType,{{"Column1", "Date"}}),
InsertYear = Table.AddColumn(RenamedColumns, "Year", each Date.Year([Date])),
InsertQuarter = Table.AddColumn(InsertYear, "QuarterOfYear", each Date.QuarterOfYear([Date])),