Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

clairermarsh
Frequent Visitor

Relationships between data tables connected by a lookup table

I'm pretty new to Power BI (desktop) and have a question about relationships please find details below;

I have two data tables 

Data Table A                                                             Data Table B

Hours Worked      Amount        Gender                 Hours Worked      Amount        Role

10 hours                 10                   Male                     10 hours                 15                  Manager

20 hours                 11                   Male                     20 hours                   4                  Manager

30 hours                 17                   Male                     30 hours                 18                  Manager

10 hours                 16                   Female                 10 hours                 16                   Executive

20 hours                   8                   Female                 20 hours                 10                   Executive

30 hours                 15                   Female                 30 hours                 13                    Executive

As the Hours Worked columns contain duplicates I created a lookup table

Lookup Table C

Hours Worked      

10 hours                 

20 hours                 

30 hours                 

Table C has a One to many relationship with Tables A and B with the Cross filter direction set to Both in each case.

I set up two table visuals one for Table A and one for Table B (with all their respective columns in the table), I then create a slicer with Table C.