Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Joretha
Regular Visitor

Problem with data type from an excel file

Hi. I am new to BI, although I've already used Power Query. I now try to import a sheet from an Excel file. The file size is 42 MB (I have the free version but that allows you up to 1GB, so this should not be a problem?) and the data in the sheet covers 52 columns and 55871 rows. When I import it, it gives me an error message to say the data was cut because of the size. The upload and modify are blanked out, so I can only choose cancel - and therefore not importing my data into Power BI. Why is this a problem? (the problem, choice options are free translations, my computer is in French)

Also, I could not connect as it does not want to accept my gmail address (and neither my yahoo.fr). I've then used another address that I have that ends .com, even though I don't really want to use this as an option as it is an address I have with a company I do work for from time to time, but MS also does not want to accept this. How on earth am I suppose to connect if they don't accept these addresses? I'm not going to pay for a domain or email address and then afterwards find out they don't even want to accept that! I'm also not sure why I should connect since the screen and functionality of Power BI comes up on my computer, which is why I started to import the data (but perhaps this is the reason for the problem?).

I would very much appreciate assistance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION