Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

alfredas81
Frequent Visitor

Order of columns changes in Data View after Edit Query phase

Hi,

I am new to Power BI, but I can not understand why the order of columns which was in Edit Query phase(no reordering was applied to column order) changed in Data View. 

Order of table columns in Edit Query mode

edit_query.PNG

And after hiting close and apply 

data_view.PNG

The problem is that same querys do not change order of columns when exiting Edit Query mode.

7 REPLIES 7
v-yulgu-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @alfredas81,

I cannot reproduce this problem in my test. What is the source table sturcture? What operations did you make in Query Editor mode? Did you create custom columns based on original columns?

It looks like only the order of custom/conditional columns will be changed.  All these columns will be displayed at the right of original columns.

This behavior won't affect the report design, as you need to add columns into visual manually. And the column order in data model doesn't dertermine the column order in visual.

Regards,
Yuliana Gu

Community Support Team _ Yuliana Gu
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Hi Yuliana Gu,

Data source is join of multiple SQL statements. Actually no conditional/custom columns were added to original table in Edit Query phase:

steps.PNG

The problem is that I use this table to join with tables which has the same structure, and because column order is changed, union function does not provide correct results in Data View phase.

Alfredas81 and Yuliana,

I have the same problem.