Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Werafa
Regular Visitor

Need help with cumulative totals start date

Hi all,

I'm new to PBI, have a strong background in VBA, and am a beginner on SQL & DAX.

I'm building a front end for an Access based BI system, and need advice on cumulative totals.

I've got my cumulative totals working (thanks to other posts here - using the Calculate, Sum, Filter All method).

I need a way to set the start date for the cumulative totals - and to ignore all prior values.

I wish to start by making cumulative values for each quarter - with each quarter starting from 0.

I would also like to make sure that the report will not break when it rolls over to a new financial year

can anyone suggest how I should do this?

Thanks

Werafa

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-huizhn-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @Werafa,

Based on my understanding, you can use TOTALQTD function. I create sample data including date and sales. I calculate the year to quarter total sales. Please see the following screenshot. It calculate cumulative total from every quarter. You can download the attachment to test.

1.PNG

If this is not what you want, you'd better create some sample table similar with your actual data. Then list the expected result, so we can post the solution which is close to your expected.

Thanks,
Angelia

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
v-huizhn-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @Werafa,

Based on my understanding, you can use TOTALQTD function. I create sample data including date and sales. I calculate the year to quarter total sales. Please see the following screenshot. It calculate cumulative total from every quarter. You can download the attachment to test.

1.PNG