Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

jansenuy
Helper I
Helper I

NEWBIE HELP POWER BI

Hello,

I'm really new in using PowerBI and I'm just trying to study functions and create reports of future implementation.

Some background:

The data I have is already around 500,000 rows. My month column is formatted as YYYY/MM and read as MM/DD/YYYY by PowerBI. All the DDs are 1 since there are no dates. Weeks are formatted as YYYY/WW, but read as WW/DD/YYYY.

I tried using delimeter to create a separate week and month column through query. If I'm not mistaken, I read that I have to duplicate of my current master query and manipulate from there. After creating the three new columns, I removed other columns for easier loading. I don't know if this is right.

After trying to apply, I get this error on the values of my Week column although its format is already a whole number 

"DataFormat.Error: We couldn't parse the input provided as a Date value.
Details:
2015/13" 

Also, another thing: PowerBI adds a row number column automatically with weird numbers. Is that normal? Do I delete it? Is it related to the indexing, something I read online as well? Thank you guys so much in advance.

----

Hope you guys can help. I have so much questions and I hope this website can guide me through.

3 REPLIES 3
GilbertQ
Super User
Super User

What I think you might need is a date table, which you can then use those columns when joining on a date table?

Here is a link to a great blog post which explains this: http://radacad.com/do-you-need-a-date-dimension

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

Power BI Blog

vanessafvg
Super User
Super User