Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Jonathan_P
Helper II
Helper II

Multi fact problem

Hello,

I am relatively new to star schema design, Power BI and its best pratices, especially when there are multiple fact tables on the same report.

I am struggling a little bit with the following design where there are 2 fact tables, 'Ventes' (the business process are the sales) and 'Analyses' (business process are the chemical or water analysis performed). I want to be able to slice 'Ventes' using 'Date de facture' (Date dimension). At the same time on the report, I want to see the 'Date d'analyse' related to 'Analyses'. I want that info on the same table visualization.

I tried to put cross filter direction to Both for relationships between 'Ventes' and the 4 dimensions at the center but I have a warning (that indicates that Power BI can't handle more than one filtering path) that prevent me to do so.

1) Do I need to put a common Date dimension?

2) Do I need to create a compound dimension for all shared dimension between the 2 fact tables?

Etc.

Note that the 'Date d'analyse' is a date a few days before the 'Date de facture'. Logically, I can't have a common Date dimension.

I know there is something wrong with my design.

Thank you

Schéma.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-sihou-msft
Employee
Employee

@Jonathan_P

In this scenario, what do you mean " 'Date d'analyse' is a date a few days before the 'Date de facture'." If this just a date to filter corresponding fact table, which means there's no direct relationship between 'Ventes' and 'Analyses', you should build date dimension into a common dimension.

" Power BI can't handle more than one filtering path"