Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

bksbGeorge
Regular Visitor

Months not in order (School Year)

Hi,

I am very new to Power BI and have only started using this in the last 2 days. The organisation I am employed by work around the UK school calendar. This means it runs from the 1st August until 31st July. Any information that is imported into Power BI reflects this but the system reorders the months either chronologically or alphabetically.

Is there any to amend this so it reflects how my organisation works?

Thank you in advance,

George

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Ahhh, you have that month field formatted as a date, and the auto date hierarchy is still turned on.  Here's how to fix that.

1) Delete the current visual.

2) Click File ->Options and Settings -> Options

3 Under Current File (on the left side, click Data Load

4) Under Time Intelligence, remove the check for Auto Date/Time

5) Rebuild your visual

The Auto Date/Time actually creates a hidden date table with columns for Year, Quarter, Month, and Date.  However, this table will not respect the sort order that you specified, so it's putting January first.

You can see evidence of this in the 2nd picture you posted.  Look at the Visualizations pane.  Under Values, you see:

x Month

x Month

x MonthSort

That extra month is the evidence that it's using the hierarchy for the date that it found in your data model.  Even though you're calling that column Month, it's actually a formatted as a date, as there is a Day, Month, and Year component.  

Had your Month column simply been January, February, March, etc. as text, this issue wouldn't have come up.  On the bright side, you get 2 lessons in 1!