Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

poweruser999
Frequent Visitor

Many to mAny relationship

Hi All,

Why doesn't power BI allow Many to Many relationships?

What happens in the background. Why cant we do it here when we can do the SAME thing in SQL SERVER. (As I am Assuming this when create a join it will create a sql on background.)

Please explain to me as I am a newbie.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

The main reason is often people create these scenarios because they exist in the source system, so they blindly replicate the structures in the data modelling engine.

The primary purpose of a BI data model is to support reporting and analytics - and if you optimise your data structures for this scenario, you find you no longer need many-to-many relationships.  

A purist would only use a relationship for filtering and not for cross-table calculations.  Just don't be afraid of data duplication through multiple FACT tables 🙂

To learn more about DAX visit : aka.ms/practicalDAX

Proud to be a Datanaut!

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
PerrigoNVanLent
Frequent Visitor

I didn't see it listed in the feature summary (https://powerbi.microsoft.com/en-us/blog/power-bi-desktop-july-2018-feature-summary/), but it looks like the "Many to Many" option (when creating a table join) is now available in the July update.

Phil_Seamark
Employee
Employee

HI @poweruser999

Power BI does support it in a roundabout way.  Perhaps create an intermediary bridge table that includes the columns you would like to match up.

Does that make sense?

Proud to be a Datanaut!

Yes I have seen many people create a unique value bridge and then joining it.