Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

michaeljc70
Advocate II
Advocate II

Make a column not sum/count

I've used Power BI quite a bit lately with a SSAS cube and some Sql Server queries and created many visualiations.  I am still fairly new to this though and cannot figure this out. 

I imported a very simple Excel spreadsheet. 3 columns: period, actual, goal. I tried to make a line and stacked column chart.  However, it keeps using the aggregations (that don't make sense). It is using a count of the goal and count of the actual and not the value from the spreadsheet.  

When I go into the query, I see no place to change how/if a column is summarized. I know how to do this in PowerPivot.  

Beyond that, I have no idea why it would do any aggregations since I am using all fields in the dataset and aggregation is not needed/appropriate.

When I click on the column under "Column values"  it shows "Count of Actual" and the only options are "Remove Field",  "Count (Distinct), and "Count".  How do I kjust get the value?

47 REPLIES 47
malrawi

I can't format it as date as I only have the year (eg, 2022). 
The only way around this is to format the years as text, then, change from sum to count. 

cfh
Frequent Visitor

When I needed a chart to pick up the most recent value on a metric with daily values but didn't have a "don't summarize" option in the visual, I left it as Sum but added a Top N date filter to the visual, chose top 1 day and by value Latest date. Summing the most recent date's data with no other values did what I needed.

(Setting the column's default summarizaton to don't summarize didn't help, and I couldn't store the values as text since I needed them to drive a chart axis.)