Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Koopakiller
Regular Visitor

Logarithmic scaled scatter chart?

I am pretty new to Power BI and have some trouble with a scatter chart. The x-axis should be logarithmic scaled but I can only set it to linear.

Unbenannt.JPG

What am I doing wrong?

PS: It's a german installation of Power BI Desktop and all updates are installed.

10 REPLIES 10
BeardyGeorge
Advocate I
Advocate I

from what I can see the base graphs in Power BI aren't particularly flexible, but that's fine, because they've included support for R.

This means you can use the ggplot2 library, and so can customise pretty much everything you could ever want to (and quite a few things you wouldn't).

What you need to do

Click on the R symbol under visualisations

Select the fields you want to chart

paste this code into the R script editor section

library(ggplot2)
names(dataset) <- gsub(" ","",names(dataset)) #only needed if you have spaces in field names

g <- ggplot(dataset,aes(x=PUT_X_FIELD_HERE,y=PUT_Y_FIELD_HERE))
g <- g + geom_point(color="#D0021A") #change the #D0021A to whatever colour you want
g <- g + scale_x_log10(label=function(x){return(x))} #you could change this bit if you wanted to display (for example) the log values on the axis instead of the raw values
,limits=c(which.min(dataset$PUT_X_FIELD_HERE>0),max(dataset$PUT_X_FIELD_HERE)) #this is the bit that actually does the work
g <- g + scale_y_log10(label=function(y){return(y))}
,limits=c(which.min(dataset$PUT_X_FIELD_HERE>0),max(dataset$PUT_Y_FIELD_HERE))
g <- g + coord_equal() #this forces the graph to be square. Delete if that's not what you want
g <- g + ggtitle("PUT GRAPH TITLE HERE")+labs(x="X AXIS LABEL GOES HERE",y="Y AXIS LABEL GOES HERE")