Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

AndresSalomon
Helper II
Helper II

Is possible to filter by subtotals?

Hi Community, my first post here. I've been working with DAX for a few months but now I'm facing a situation that I cannot solve. My situation is a bit complicated to write but I will do my best summarizing it, so you can easily understand. 

I have a report which has a table like this from where I get the data:

Name________Country____________WBS_________Month________Allocation

Name1_______USA________________WBS1________Jan___________1        

Name1_______USA________________WBS2________Jan___________1

Name2_______China______________WBS3________Jan___________1

Name2_______China______________WBS4________Feb___________1

Name2_______China______________WBS5________Feb___________1

The objective here is identified the people that is "Over-allocated" to a WBS (considering 1 as the maximun allocation)

So, I created a simple measure: Allocation Measure = SUM ([Allocation]). Then I created a Pivot Table like below (I'm not writing all the months for practical reasons, but imagine the whole picture of the whole year). The measure goes in the "Values" field.

Name________WBS________Jan_______Feb_____Mar...............
Name1______WBS1________1_________0________
______________WBS2________1_________0________ 
Name1 Total_______________2_________0________ (This is the "Subtotal" feature from Pivot Tables)
Name2______WBS3________1_________0_________

______________WBS4________0_________1_________
______________WBS5________0_________1_________
Name2 Total_______________1_________2_________

So, the folk from USA is overallocated in January and the other one from China is overallocated in February (the thing here is to imagine that there are thousands of rows and all the months)