Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

varunaggarwal30
Frequent Visitor

Incremental Load from Azure Data Lake

Hi ,

I am new to PowerBI. I have a question. My organization has a requirement to load data in azure data lake and connect power bi with data lake. The input files I get needs to be clenaed and transformed.I am having hard time to understand the data flow. If all the cleansisng happens in powerBI then how will I be able to do incremental load? Files will be ingested every month , how do I create a structured data . Is there any middleware I need to use for ETL process or any other way of doing it better?

Thanks

7 REPLIES 7
ImkeF
Super User
Super User

You cannot do incremental load in PowerBI desktop currently, but it will come in the premium version.

If the transformation is heavy it could make sense to use an R script to export your results to a database or file and re-import them.

There's also a workaround in PowerBI, but watch out for the traps there: http://www.thebiccountant.com/2017/01/11/incremental-load-in-powerbi-using-dax-union/

Imke Feldmann (The BIccountant)

If you liked my solution, please give it a thumbs up. And if I did answer your question, please mark this post as a solution. Thanks!

How to integrate M-code into your solution -- How to get your questions answered quickly -- How to provide sample data -- Check out more PBI- learning resources here -- Performance Tipps for M-queries

In addition to the remark from Imke, you may should consider this:

Depending on the amount of data residing in ADL that you want to analyze with Power BI you should consider that the sheer amount will not fit into the data model if you import data.

Accessing data from data sources using DirectQuery may limit the "data munging" capabilities or prevent query folding.