Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

How to refresh a report when excel is used as source?

I am new to POWER BI and require some help in refershing the data. I recently created a dashboard using excel as source for the data. The dashboard works fine, however, if I have to refresh the data in excel file what should be the steps that I need to follow. 

Basically, I have following questions?

1. How do I refresh the data so that it reflects in dashboard, especially when excel is the source file?

2. If am able to refresh the data will the changes be reflected in the all places? I mean even if I have shared that dashboard will recepients also see the changes that was made?

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Anonymous

For change header types – well, if you go to query editor, you will see the column names are hardcoded in the formula bar. Hence, when you change the column header names, power Bi will throw an expression error, as it is not able to find the column present in the formula bar.

To fix this issue, in query editor window, delete changed type under applied steps. Now when you change column header names, the new name will be reflected in power Bi as well. Same behaviour applies for deleted columns.

Let me know if this helps or if you found a different solution.

Regards,

Sarita

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

Hi @Anonymous,

What method are you using to connect to onedrive? if you are connecting to your local one drive folder then you will need a personal gateway for detecting changes.

But if you do not want perosnal gateway and still want to be able to access one drive excel workbook and the changes, then follow the below steps ( This method works for me):-

1) open onedrive in your browser.