Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Be
Advocate I
Advocate I

How to create a values range slicer (not a time range)?

I am looking for a way to create a slicer that will put the values into a range. I came across this thread and thought it might be the way to solve this problem - but wanted to create another thread in case there was an easier way. 

http://community.powerbi.com/t5/Developer/Slicer-Sort-Issue/m-p/19800#U19800

I have odometer values for a vehicle dataset I am working from. I want to create a slicer that will allow a user to choose 0-10K odometer readings or 10K-20K odometer reading etc.  

What is the easiest way to create this slicer? I have limited knowledge of DAX and no knowledge of M formulas. 

Thank you very much for the help from this community! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
fso
Advocate II
Advocate II

Thinking about it now... there's a much simpler solution.
Just edit your query (Get Data) and add a custom column with this formula:

Text.From(Number.RoundDown([actual odometer values]/5000,0)*5000/1000)
& "K - "
& Text.From(((Number.RoundDown([actual odometer values]/5000,0)*5000+5000)/1000))
& "K"

That will give you a table like this and you can simply filter on the new column

Unbenannt.PNG

You can use the first approach I posted here if the ranges would not always contain 5000 but vary in steps... But otherwise i'D go for this second option. 🙂

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
fso
Advocate II
Advocate II

Thinking about it now... there's a much simpler solution.
Just edit your query (Get Data) and add a custom column with this formula:

Text.From(Number.RoundDown([actual odometer values]/5000,0)*5000/1000)
& "K - "
& Text.From(((Number.RoundDown([actual odometer values]/5000,0)*5000+5000)/1000))
& "K"