Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

psmith-nhs-inc
Helper III
Helper III

How to choose different columns from a filter

OK, I know how to do this with measures: build a table of selectors, create a filter on that table, create a measure using Switch() to choose between calculations depending on the MAX value of those selectors.  I have several working examples.  This is a little different however.

I started the same way:

I have a two column table with two entries:

Master-SingleID      Master-SingleSelect

1                              Master

2                              Single

In my item table I have a Master # (which is not unique) and a Single# which IS unique.  I am not doing math with these numbers, they are identifiers.

I have this calculated column:

Master-SingleValue = if(sum('MasterSku-Single3D'[Master-SingleID])=1,'Item'[master_sku],'Item'[singlesku)

This should return the value corrosponding to my selection, but it returns [singlesku] every time.

A card shows me that my filter selection is working, if I choose Master, sum('MasterSku-Single3D'[Master-SingleID])=1, if I choose Single, then sum('MasterSku-Single3D'[Master-SingleID])=2. 

The column however, only shows me [singlesku] no matter what I select.

My ultimate goal is to use this to populate the Row field of a matrix, with some averages and sums for values.

Any Ideas?

Thanx

Phil

3 REPLIES 3
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @psmith-nhs-inc,

Based on my understanding, you want to create a dynamic calculate column based on slicer, right?

If this is a case, power bi not support to use slicer to achieve the dynamic calculated column.(measure and slicer works on visual level; calculate column/table works on date model level)

Reference: