Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Chemiefrik
Frequent Visitor

Holiday Calculation: From Start and End Date to "Aggregation Graph"

Hello everyone, Hello Dax-Experts, Robot Happy

I'm new to Power BI, and I have only a limited Knowledge of DAX.

The following Problem keeps driving me nuts the whole last week:

I have an holiday table with a start and an end Date. There is a Coloumn with the qualification and a lot of other Coloumns with other details like the Name.

PowerBi.PNG

I would like to show a graph, which shows the sum of all people who are on holiday on the same day for every day in the year. So the X-Axis should display the year from January the first to 31. december. The Y-Axis should show me how many people are on holiday at the same time. I would like to be able to add a slicer to filter the qualification, name and so on.

To do this, i thought it should be possible to split up the Start and End Date to a table in which every row is displaying one day of the holiday.

But I don't know how. Please help me. Smiley Frustrated

PowerBi2.PNG

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Sean
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @Chemiefrik !

It seems we can achieve this by just slightly modifying @OwenAuger's solution here Smiley Happy

http://community.powerbi.com/t5/Desktop/Generate-a-schedule-table/m-p/38834#M14436

Holiday Schedule =
SUMMARIZE (
    GENERATE (
        HolidayTable,
        CALCULATETABLE (
            VALUES ( 'Calendar'[Date] ),
            DATESBETWEEN (
                'Calendar'[Date],
                HolidayTable[Start Date],
                HolidayTable[End Date]
            )
        )
    ),
    HolidayTable[Name],
    'Calendar'[Date],
    HolidayTable[Qualification]
)

Here's the result...

Generate Holiday Table 1.png