Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

PaulDBrown
Community Champion
Community Champion

Help with FILTER: "multiple columns" error

Hello everyone. This is my very first request, and I confess I am very new to Power BI so please bear with me...

Ok, SO I'm trying to do apply  basic filter to a table, but I'm failing dismally.

Basically I would like the measure to filter the table to display only the columns which meet the expression, but I get an erro message.

here is the screenshot:

Filter Year 2014.PNG

Wht exactly is wrong with the measure??

Thank you for your help!

Paul.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!
In doing so, you are also helping me. Thank you!

Proud to be a Super User!
Paul on Linkedin.

14 REPLIES 14
igor
Frequent Visitor

You can use this formula.

YEAR 2014 = IF('table'[year]=2014,2014)

PaulDBrown
Community Champion
Community Champion

Thank you, that of course makes sense...

The reason I'm trying to apply this measure is actually to simplify other measures by using this new measure (the filter on year...) as a nested measure to other measure.

This it how I'm trying to make things work. I have a model where a period table (seen in the screenshot) acts as the lookup table to be able to filter data tables with differing granularity (sales table - high ganurality with transcations on a single date level- and a budget and monthly estimates - with a lower granularity ie month level).

Using this period table (YearMonth), I have succeded in writing mesures to filter results based on current month, YTD, same month last year, or YTD previous year. One example of these period measures is:

Previous YTD Sales  = CALCULATE([Sales];
 filter(YearMonth;
  YearMonth[Year]=YEAR(TODAY())-1
  &&
  YearMonth[month]<=MONTH(TODAY())))