Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

chrila
Frequent Visitor

Grouping based on logical expressions on past events

Hi.

I have a problem that on the surface seems really simple, but I can't wrap my head around how to do this with M (I am completely new to Power BI and Query Languages in general). I have a table of time stamped system events, logged towards a specific System ID for each event. Something like this (a lot more columns, but only these of interest):

Date | System ID | Event Type

From this, I want to create a metric I term "Active Users" which is a count of all unique System IDs that satisfy the following rule: "having at least 1 event registered in the last 7 days and at least 1 event registered more than 14 days ago". Simple enough if it was just a matter of checking for now(), but i want to display it as a time series graph (line) for the 2+ years I have events from, meaning I need the active count grouped for every day that I have events from.

Example:

Screen Shot 2017-10-23 at 8.56.37 AM.png

Note; the event type is simply there because I need to filter out irrelevant ones before I attempt to calculate the "active user"

Regardless how I try to iterate over each row, I don't seem to find a function that allows me to do the necessary logical check before grouping, thereby losing info in the process.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-qiuyu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @chrila,

You can create a calculated column below: 

Rankrow = CALCULATE(COUNTROWS('Table1'),FILTER('Table1','Table1'[System ID]=EARLIER(Table1[System ID])&&'Table1'[Date]<EARLIER(Table1[Date])&& DATEDIFF('Table1'[Date],EARLIER(Table1[Date]),DAY)>7))

Then create a measure: 

count = COUNTROWS(FILTER(Table1,'Table1'[Rankrow]<>BLANK()))

q2.PNG

Best Regards,
Qiuyun Yu