Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

PrernaPedamkar
Frequent Visitor

Display bar chart/line chart result as per date range selection (month wise, week wise, day wise).

Hello All,

I am a beginner in PowerBI, I require help for one of the requirements :

Display bar chart/line chart result as per date range selection (month wise, week wise, day wise).

If date range selection > 1 month, show chart in months.

If it's < 1 month, show chart in weeks.

If it's < 1 week, show chart in days. 

screeshot.png 

How can this be achieved in PowerBI desktop (November update)? Or a work around for the same will also do.

Thanks in advance !

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Hi @PrernaPedamkar,

Date hierarchy doesn't contain week automatically. You need to create a calculated column to calculate the weeknum values. You can download the attached .pbix in my original post to have a look.

q3.PNG

Best Regards,
Qiuyun Yu

Community Support Team _ Qiuyun Yu
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

Ok Sure.  I am definitely going to work upon this work around.  Thanks !

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
v-qiuyu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @PrernaPedamkar,

Based on my research, it's not supported to change chart X-axis field dynamically based on the selected range in a slicer.

In your scenario, you can drag a Month, Week, Date fields into Axis property, when you checked different date range in a slicer visual, you are able to see values in different hierarchies manually.  For more information, see:  Visual hierarchies and drill-down behavior.

q2.PNGq3.PNG

Best Regards,
Qiuyun Yu