Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

mterry
Helper V
Helper V

Date format and table layouts

I have a few different tables I'm hoping to link up, but the layout is slightly different. On one of the tables, there is a column that includes the date of the transactions in YYYYMM format. In the other tables, the date is actually the header of a column (typically in the same format). I'm extremely new to PBI, and I'm wondering if it's going to be possible to get these to all play nice given the different layouts? From playing around I'm having trouble working with the visuals for the tables that have the dates set as column headers.

I'm also having a smaller issue with the YYYYMM format in general, and not sure if whether it's my source data, me, or PBI. I am able to work around the issue using a find and replace since there are only so many months in a year and my data only spans a few years, but I'm wondering if it's possible to get PBI to recognize that format and utilize it?

Thanks in advance for any assistance....

10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Just to clarify.  When you say the YYYYMM is "actually the header of a column", do you mean that you have a table with multiple columns and each column will be its own YYYYMM value?

If thats the case, get the Query Editor to 'Unpivot' those columns such that it places them back into separate rows with only a single column.  That should allow you to link those tables.

Using the YYYYMM format:  An easy solution can be to create a formula column where you convert YYYYMM into dates making use of the LEFT and RIGHT along with the DATE function.  This might look something like

= DATE(LEFT([OLDDATE], 4), RIGHT([OLDDATE], 2), 1)
which would change 201704 into a date of 1st April 2017.

@Anonymous wrote: